Biographies

Sylvie Blocher

Sylvie Blocher and Shaun Ross during the shooting of the work “A More Perfect Country” (2012) form the series “Speeches” (2009-2012, Mudam Collection) © Photo: Christophe Beauregard

Since the early 1990s, the French artist Sylvie Blocher has built up a body of video work that takes the human as its material - one that is fragile and unpredictable but charged with extreme presence. She is engaged in a "poetics of relationships", of emancipation, questioning identities, the writing of history, the presence of the feminine in the male body. Produced in various geographical contexts - Europe, North America, Brazil, India, China, etc. - her artworks are conceived in terms of an exchange: they often involve the participation of outsiders invited to speak or act for the camera, the artist thus sharing her authority with the "models" to create what she refers to as "Living Pictures", living images.

Sylvie’s work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at institutions such as the Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney (2010), the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2007) and Casino Luxembourg (2003). Her work has also been included in group exhibitions and major international events (Les Désastres de la guerre, Louvre-Lens, 2014 Liverpool Biennial, 2012; elles@centrepompidou, Pompidou Centre, 2010; Lyon Biennale, 2009; La Force de l’art, 2006; Venice Biennale, 2003) and features in the collections of several international museums such as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Mudam Luxembourg and the Pompidou Centre.

In 1997, in collaboration with the architect and urban planner Francois Daune, Sylvie Blocher also founded Campement Urbain, a flexible group working on new urban forms, which in 2002 received the Evens Foundation International Award for Art Community Collaboration.

Sylvie Blocher was born in France. She lives and works in Saint-Denis.

Donato Rotunno

Donato Rotunno
© Tarantula

The career of the film director Donato Rotunno started with the short film Fishtrip (1996) and continued with documentaries on themes specific to Luxembourg, including immigration (Terra Mia Terra Nostra, 2012 ; Les Mesures du rectangle, 2005), cultural mixing (Blà Blä Blá, 2006), the role of politics in society (André et les voix dissidentes, 1999), and the relationship between contemporary art and film (Making of a picture and Landscape with a corpse, 2005, inspired by the work of Japanese photographer Kaoru Izima). His first feature-length fiction film, In a Dark Place (2006), won the award for best artistic contribution to the Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis in 2007 and he is currently completing his next film, Baby(a)lone, an adaptation of the novel Amok by Luxembourg writer Tullio Forgiarini, while working in collaboration with Jean Portante on an original script extending the themes dealt with in Terra Mia Terra Nostra.

A film studies graduate of the Institut des Arts de Diffusion in Louvain-la-Neuve, as a producer, Donato Rotunno co-founded the production company Tarantula Luxembourg in 1994, through which, to date, he has supervised more than 18 feature films.

Donato Rotunno was born in Luxembourg in 1966. He lives and works in Luxembourg.

Biographies

Sylvie Blocher

Sylvie Blocher et Shaun Ross pendant le tournage de l’œuvre « A More Perfect Country » (2012) de la série des « Speeches » (2009-2012, Collection Mudam) © Photo : Christophe Beauregard

L’artiste française Sylvie Blocher développe depuis le début des années 1990 une œuvre vidéographique prenant pour matière première l'humain – matière fragile et imprévisible, mais dotée d’une présence extrême. Elle engage une « poétique de la relation », de l’émancipation, questionne les identités, l’écriture de l’histoire, la présence du féminin dans les corps masculins. Réalisées dans des contextes géographiques variés – Europe, Amérique du Nord, Brésil, Inde, Chine, etc. –, ses œuvres sont pensées sur le mode de l’échange : elles impliquent souvent la participation de personnes extérieures invitées à prendre la parole ou à agir devant la caméra, l’artiste partageant alors son autorité avec les « modèles » pour créer ce qu’elle nomme des « Living Pictures », des images vivantes.

L’œuvre de Sylvie a fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles dans des institutions telles que le Museum of Contemporary Art de Sydney (2010), le San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2007) et le Casino Luxembourg (2003). Elle a également été présentée dans des expositions collectives et d’importantes manifestations internationales (Les Désastres de la guerre, Louvre-Lens, 2014 ; Liverpool Biennial, 2012 ; elles@centrepompidou, Centre Pompidou, 2010 ; Biennale de Lyon, 2009 ; La Force de l’art, 2006 ; Biennale de Venise, 2003) et fait partie des collections de plusieurs musées internationaux, tels que le San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, le Mudam Luxembourg et le Centre Pompidou.

Sylvie Blocher a par ailleurs créé en 1997, avec l'architecte-urbaniste François Daune,  Campement Urbain, un groupe à géométrie variable qui travaille sur les nouvelles urbanités et qui a reçu en 2002 le Prix International de la Fondation Evens : Art Community Collaboration.

Sylvie Blocher est née en France. Elle vit et travaille à Saint-Denis. 

Donato Rotunno

Donato Rotunno
© Tarantula

La carrière de réalisateur de Donato Rotunno commence avec le court-métrage Fishtrip (1996), pour se prolonger avec des documentaires sur des des thèmes spécifiques au Luxembourg tels que l’immigration (Terra Mia Terra Nostra, 2012 ; Les Mesures du rectangle, 2005), le croisement culturel (Blà Blä Blá, 2006), la place de la politique dans notre société (André et les voix dissidentes, 1999), ou encore le rapport entre l’art contemporain et le cinéma (Making of a picture et Landscape with a corpse, 2005, inspiré des œuvres du photographe japonais Kaoru Izima). Son premier long-métrage de fiction, In a Dark Place (2006), a remporté le prix de la meilleure contribution artistique au Lëtzebuerger Filmpräis en 2007. Il termine actuellement son prochain long-métrage, Baby(a)lone, une adaptation du roman Amok de l’écrivain luxembourgeois Tullio Forgiarini, et travaille à quatre mains avec Jean Portante sur l’écriture du scénario original prolongeant des thèmes abordés dans Terra Mia Terra Nostra.

Diplômé en études cinématographiques de l’Institut des Arts de Diffusion de Louvain-la-Neuve, Donato Rotunno a, en tant que producteur, cofondé en 1994 la société de production Tarantula Luxembourg, à travers laquelle il a supervisé à ce jour plus de 18 longs métrages. 

Donato Rotunno est né en 1966 au Luxembourg. Il vit et travaille à Luxembourg.